Kennedy Sunset

Started the day with a bike fit. Been having some issues so into the shop for an hour long session looking at my seat, its height, fore/aft position, cleat position, shoe cant. The works. Also had an interesting discussion on retail vs online models. Retail certainly is hard, and the interesting thing was this guy knew it had to change. How is the big question.

Work and dealing with lots of little things, but, having some trouble focussing. Lots to do, in fact too much, which is probably part of the problem. Need to prioritise and just get on with it!

The bike shop also identified that I need a new helmet, it’s old and knocked around. Saw a superb Kevlar reinforced one, $280, so I thought I’d research. Which is when I came across this article talking how the helmet certification was basically developed in the 50’s and hasn’t changed to much. Interestingly there is some new technology around now called MIPS and some manufacturers are developing to this new specification which goes well beyond current practice. But, they are more expensive and you guessed it, maybe haven’t sold as well.

Sadly, no one in NZ is stocking them, so off to the US (online) I have to go (ironic given the morning discussion). Looks like I’ll get the Scott Lin or more likely the Stego,

And then at 5 on my bike and into the Port Hills. Rode up Kennedys and discovered at the top as the sun had set that I had the wrong light/battery combo. No lights. Decided to come down Worsleys to avoid the road. Hate the track. Muddy, rutted and just plain unpleasant. Had to walk much of it.

Oh well, lesson learned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.