Lost and Found

Hamish had his first outing in his hamster ball last night. He seemed to really enjoy it. His favourite part was escaping...

I saw the lid come off and he was out of the ball before I made it across the room. He's fairly confident so he didn't run off, but he also isn't tame yet. So when I tried to scoop him up, he ran off. There was no coaxing him out. So I set up two "traps", closed all of the doors, and left him to it. Trap 1 was his hamster wheel inside Charlie's old travel carrier - the idea is that you hear them running on their irresistible wheel, then go in and close the door. Trap 2 was a bucket and some food - plenty of bedding and food in the bottom of the bucket, and a line of food leading up a ramp of some sort to climb to the top. They fall in to a nice soft landing, and can't climb up the slippy sides to get back out. Trap 2 worked.

Now for sleep. And I'm sure the morning light will show me what he chewed through during his 3-hour escapade...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.