Kendall is here

By kendallishere

We can lift up the sky

While I was out walking by the river with my friend Jude, my Facebook account received a message from someone in South Africa who says she is Palesa, my elder Basotho daughter who I last saw in October, 2010. Since that time HRHCinderella, who blips from South Africa, was able to reach Palesa by phone once, just to confirm she is alive and well. However soon after that confirmation, Palesa’s phone went dead. I sent a package, and it was returned to me. I sent her letters, and the letters were returned to me. And then nothing. One year. Two years. Nothing.

Two days ago Katherine Ellis suggested I open a new Facebook account in the name by which Palesa knew me, so that if she ever came searching for me on Facebook, she could find me. It had not occurred to me that Palesa might do that. So I opened the new Facebook account. But I didn’t get a message to that account. Instead I got four messages at my old Facebook account, the one I’ve had since 2008. These come from someone who claims to be Palesa. It might be Palesa. It might also be someone pretending to be Palesa. I will wait and see.

I am all a-flutter and a-tingle with hope. First Chris’s visit. Now this. I can hardly breathe for all the hope.

Update: It is Palesa. Her sister has a phone that can pick up Facebook. We are having a conversation, trying to catch up. Her life is hard, but we're solid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.