A Day At A Time.

By ElCid

Rough Stuff

Rough Stuff.

There have been storms in the Balearics and out to sea and we have been getting the aftermath here.

For the past couple of days, the waves have been crashing on to the shore with a ferocity I have not seen here before. May not be Atlantic rollers, but they carry more than enough energy to knock you down like a skittle and dash you against the stony beach like a rag doll.

Then the rip drags you back out for the next wave to crash into you. And they carry a payload of stones, which smash into your body like shrapnel.

It is all too easy to underestimate the danger of these rough seas. It looks like fun, but once you have been dragged under by the first wave, it is surprisingly difficult to get back to the surface to breathe. And I am sure if you took in a lungful of water, there would be a serious risk of drowning.

And how do I know all this? Well, I was stupid enough to go into the sea when it was at its roughest and I found out for myself!

Scary stuff.

Have a great weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.