Ilkka

By ilkka

The lawn

We were out giving our cavys some exercise (and fresh grub straight from the source) when I noted how nicely the setting sun still lit the back yard. I've been trying to improve my landscapes, and one of the things I've been practising is trying to come up with multilayered compositions, with things at varying depth levels. Also, I recently saw these pretty amazing outdoor shots by Alejandro Chaskielberg at the Exposure Compensation website, where he had combined natural light and flash for some interesting compositions. So I tried to combine both, and here is the result... the flash component being a single SB-600 camera left, pointing towards the camera, with a Lumiquest mini softbox. The sun is coming from low behind the camera. It gives a bit of separation to the foreground, and although it's maybe not quite the effect I was shooting for, I liked it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.