Little Russel

Alice and I caught the bus into town this morning. I'm not at all used to the new times and routes, but took advice from J who's a frequent and regular bus user. Fortunately, we arrived at the bus stop 10 minutes before the scheduled time, and the bus arrived 5 minutes early! On the new route, we were able to alight at the top of St Julian's Avenue and therefore buy our nice bread in Smith Street, whilst visiting J next door. I bought a couple of things at M&S, then we made for the library which was our real destination. We browsed the children's section and came away with books in both French and English, and I looked upstairs and found a few French learning resources including CDs and audio books.

We called in at the M&S Food Store to get a ring doughnut for Alice. The bus was due to leave on the hour and we arrived at 10.55.....and saw the bus leaving! I ran and waved at it from the traffic lights, but it drove on. I approached the kiosk and asked if that was our bus leaving early? BUT....there's always another perspective. The bus didn't leave early, but my watch was 5 minutes slow! Oh no! So the bus was also on time earlier on this morning too. I asked about other buses, and we found one leaving in 15 minutes that would mean a few minutes longer walk to get home, but it wasn't too far. Well done Guernsey buses. I know they've been taking a lot of stick in the media recently, but it was my mistake this morning!

When we're at home and J or N aren't about, Alice keeps herself busy catching bugs, then watching and looking after her "pets". Today she has caught a fly, a moth and a grass-hopper. N also bought her some sea-monkeys, and we have some tiny babies appearing now.

I'm still sorting and recycling, but I've slowed down a bit over the past couple of days. I don't have to do it all right now (in spite of what my head says). A bit at a time is just fine. M still has to unpack his suitcase of clothes though! I seem determined not to do it for him, but it's getting harder to resist. I have filled the car with more clothes recycling in order to make room in his wardrobe :-)

This afternoon, Alice and I drove up to St Martins to look in a shop there, but came away empty-handed.

On the way home, we stopped off at Fort George to take a blip of the Little Russel. I'd like to be able to say that the Condor in the harbour (behind and above the blue Manche Iles Express ferry on the left) is the one that N is on, but this one was going to the UK. N and a friend have gone to Saint Malo for the night, and they had left an hour or so before the photo.

Every Saturday for the past few weeks, J has played at Castle Cornet (beneath the cruise ship!) Not today of course. He'll be there tomorrow, but I had other plans for my last blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.