Coolicon

Spent the morning at home tidying up and cleaning the place. Once you start, it just goes on and on, there's no end to it, especially with small children around. It's like painting the bleedin' Forth Road Bridge.

Except I did stop and went out for a wander in the afternoon to go brambling, take some photos and do a bit of drawing. It was grand, all that was missing was the flask and the bit of cake that every self-respecting brambler should always have with them, I'll remember for next time.

And then out in the evening for a bit of theatre, the repeat of the Traverse's 50 Plays event, this time spread out over two evenings. And after enjoying tonight's so much I'm really kicking myself that I didn't make it along last night as well. Damn. There was just something really involving and celebratory about the whole project that really translated onto the stage. 25 (well, actually there were 26 in a slight perversion of the '50 Plays' theme) short pieces, each only a few minutes long, read and performed by a company of six actors in a script-in-hand, stripped-back style. It worked brilliantly, I had a few favourites, and there were inevitably one or two that I didn't like so much, but overall the standard was pretty high. I'll be back for new work by some of the writers involved in October. I'm still grinning - huge thumbs-up.

Right, bit of music to end. I was making buns with my youngest earlier and just as I was saying to her how satisfying it was putting bun mixture into bun cases, the way the mixture just dropped slowly from the spoon and kind of then gradually levelled itself out within the case, she replied "Yes, and this is really good music for it as well!" Erm, well this was playing at the time and it's perhaps not the most obvious baking music but if it's good enough for her, then it's good enough for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.