The End

Tonight my parents came up to Edinburgh and we had plans to watch the end of the Festival Fireworks from the top of Salisbury Crags.

Disaster struck at 8pm though. Wesley had gone out and he still wasn't back. We went looking for him, but he was nowhere to be found. It got to 8.30 and I could either wait home for him or set the cat flap to one way, go out, and hope he comes home. Nerve wrecking.

We climbed the hill and sat in the blustery wind for about an hour. What I've learned is that the fireworks don't look as impressive when you're looking down on them, the crags are pretty high when it's crazy windy outside, and the iPhone is hopeless at both fireworks and distance shots.

When we got home Wesley wasn't there.

Mum and I went searching for him again. We were just giving up when I heard a quiet miaow. He'd heard my voice calling for him and had come out of hiding. He was shaking, cold and filthy. We think he got scared and had been hiding in a bush in a nearby cul-de-sac for a couple of hours. He looked terrified.

I have never been so relieved to see the wee man. I was really starting to panic. I'm not so sure about this outside thing anymore. I couldn't bear to lose him. Makes me sound like a complete saddo, but that cat is my life.

Today's run: 12 miles
September running mileage: 12 miles
2013 running mileage: 768 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.