Suppertime.

No 3 is very disappointed if she doesn't get her requisite 3 meals (and supper). Sometimes she is in bed and she has called us through to tell us she hasn't been given any dinner ! (she had just forgotten).

She may finish her dinner at 6pm- followed by pudding and fruit...but by 7.00 pm she is looking for 'supper'.

I'm not sure we ever had 'supper' as kids. A cup of cocoa in the winter (made with water and it always left yucky bits at the bottom of the mug!) - maybe toast at the weekend. If you were hungry my mum told us to have a bowl of cornflakes. Kitchen closed at 6.00pm when the massive (and very burnt) tea pot was taken off the hob and my mum settled for the evening with the crossword, a stewed cup of tea and a fag !

I have fond memories of the smell of fried onions being made for dinner while my sisters and I were huddled round the telly watching Blue Peter - she would occasionally hand in a plate of fried bread as an appetizer ! Bliss!

Here's No 3 with leftover Apple Crumble and redcurrants on top - for her supper. She wouldn't even put down the ipod to say Cheese.

I'm not a big fan of supper before bedtime.....a glass of wine however.....!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.