West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Harvester of Sorrow

The threatened rain never came, instead the day cleared away to the east and was warm and bright. I like when the weather holds, it is a time of year when you live in a rural community that sees a dramatic change in the environment, it is a time for harvest, last week I Blipped the cutting and collecting of the silage in Silage Showers today on the other side of the neighbouring village the combine harvesters were relentless as they devoured the golden fields acre after acre. Tomorrow the field will be stubble and crows, the birds scavenging for the remnants of the ears of grain sprayed by the blades as they did their work.

I have worked at our local agricultural show for many years and this year was "invited" onto the committee, the first meeting being tonight hence the late journal, these shows are very much a part of rural life, and to be able to contribute to the planning and organisation, to give a little back as it were is something I welcome. I am sure it will be enjoyable despite the work that will be involved but I have never been afraid of hard work

I marvel at how technology has moved on since my childhood and the machinery and vehicles I remember watching when visiting my gran at Quarry Farm, a lifetime ago, seem so small and unsophisticated now, but still memories treasured.

I liked this shot, the greens saturated but muted, the vision of rural life, a life I am so fortunate to enjoy. in this shot too you will see how regardless of where I am locally I am never far from our river either, if you look in the top left of the frame you will see the towers and cables of the Erskine Bridge that spans her. I hope you enjoy the shot and certainly best in large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.