Costa Adeje

This morning my son-in-law, C, and I decided to join the "fitness" group for a coastal power walk for an hour. I was armed with a camera, sun hat and water bottle when we set off, only to discover that the others had just water bottles!, and I then became a very frustrated blipper as the views were super along the coast, but even taking two photos - of which this is one - I found myself having to play catch up. Nonetheless it was a great walk and despite being a wet blob at the end of it I felt the better for it once I had showered and joined the family in the pool. Only an hour later there was aqua aerobics in the pool - so I had a go at that too, much to the amusement of the boys who eventually joined in with much giggling.

In the afternoon we went on a catamaran and sailed out from the bay in search of dolphins and pilot sharks. Much to our delight we found both and some of us even managed to join the group swimming off the end of the boat at the end of the trip.

Costa Adeje is very attractive and not as busy as the more popular resorts. In the photo you can see a large building on the top of the cliffs and this used to be a monastery, although it is now in private hands. Below you can see quite clearly the volcanic rock where years ago the lava flow met the sea, however I don't know what kind of rock is at the base as it is obviously softer and being eroded by the sea into smooth edged caverns. Also during the walk we had passed a beach which was absolutely full of black volcanic rocks. Apparently a large amount of sand had been dredged from the sea bed only recently and deposited on the beach but as they had not built a strong enough breakwater, the powerful waves during the winter had promptly sucked away the sand and replaced it with rocks again. Nature readjusting the status quo. ....I do find the geology of these islands fascinating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.