Bill

Dad called this morning to say my uncle had died. He was 90 years old, and had been sick for a couple of weeks. He went quickly, as he lived his life.

Bill was one of those unbelievably larger than life characters, but also quite shy in many respects. Until he'd had a few drinks.

Some of the history and dates I am little fuzzy on, and no doubt at the funeral I’ll get filled in on … Originally from the UK he served on merchant ships during the war, sunk twice apparently. Was a coal miner for a time, then moved to NZ, maybe in the 50’s? Eventually started a clothing company, High Society. Married my Dads sister, with kids from his previous marriage. Amazing business man, his philosophy was that in any deal, everyone had to win and not feel they had been cheated or lost. I think though he had such a charm and personality, others probably felt they won, but he had ;-)

A passionate fisherman he became an absolute icon of the game fishing scene in NZ for probably 50 years. His last boat Te Ariki Nui, was launched in 1986 and was the pinnacle of fishing technology at the time. In his heyday he caught/tagged/released 85 marlin in a season. He caught his last marlin just a few weeks ago in Hawaii, aged 90. Epic. He literally wrote the book on marlin fishing.

There will be so many things I’ll remember about Bill, however one of the funniest was this year. I was in Wanaka staying at Bill and Robyns place, Bill had just turned 90, and I had just finished a 95km bike race. I was stuffed.

But we sat down; Bill, Johnny and I, and polished off a bottle of Shackletons whiskey, and talked no doubt a lot of BS. I never drink whiskey, but did that night. It’s a rather fond memory now. Added to the fact that Bill was smoking joints. Classic.

That’s how he lived his life I feel, full throttle and enjoying every minute of it, right up the the end.

Wow. Respect.

The photo. Spent an hour searching for a photo that I knew I had, but found a backup of some photos I’d taken for Bill a few years ago, 2009 in fact. So a photo, of a photo, of a painting. “Character” written all over it. He was, and always will be in so many people’s minds. Mine absolutely included.

The artist I have just discovered is Deidre Copeland, such a beautiful and lifelike painting. Amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.