The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Last Days of the Lido

For Square September, my day 2

Stroud has a 1930s Lido/Outdoor swimming pool which is open only in the summer months, as it is not heated. I passed through Stratford Park on my way to the college, so popped over for a look. It seems to be open in the mornings only this week, for lane swimming but nothing else, and a decision will be made as to whether it will open next week. The weather this week certainly warrants it.

I wasn't brave enough to go and ask for a blip, so shot through the half-barred gate. I thought the lines were interesting, in any case, though the arc of the diving board is by far the most gracious element. The staff uniforms are the wrong colour, I cannot help feeling. But maybe lifeguards always wear red. It is also a pity about the concrete box that surrounds this period architecture.

A quieter day at work, and a peaceful afternoon at home. CS isn't back yet, but I am about to embark on making some zucchini/courgette noodles with hot peanut butter sauce. Tomorrow is Friday already, thank (someone) for that!

As for the college, they seem to have terminated my employment without telling me, so I was unable to get a staff ID for this year. I am 'only' a life model, but they tend to be quite sought after, so I don't know what's gone wrong. It might be that I was unavailable to model last term because I was doing Digital Photography, having been informed wrongly by the college that it wouldn't clash with the Life Class! Grrrrrr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.