McNeill

By mcneill

Learning ISO - how not to do it

So I am new to all of this digital SLR lark. I am the proud owner of a new Nikon D90, thanks to the recommendations of many, including Blip's own wingpig

I was at a the birthday party of a friend and was lucky enough to meet a chap called Simon Helson. I had taken my new toy to the party in order to experiment with portrait shots and the low light conditions of a typical flat party.

I am still finding my way around the camera's functions, and around the subtleties of photography (having grown frustrated at the limits of a point-and-shoot, but having no clue what the hell I am doing when it comes to f numbers, iso settings, and whatever else lurks in the many options I now have at my disposal).

Simon was kind enough to give me a quick tour of the basics of ISO settings, not to mention the benefits of investing in a decent flash. I've uploaded an image of Simon taken BEFORE this tuition, hopefully it will serve as a lesson to me in the future. Especially when it comes to understanding both ISO settings and the benefit of setting exposure weighting area to spot.

Ah well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.