how felice sees

By dawdler

life in a mausoleum

I went on a photography tour of the historic green-wood cemetery. Finding this spider web inside a mausoleum where there was nothing but stone and dust was a surprise but I guess this just goes to show that living beings can be quite resilient.

The architecture and many of the sculptures were quite beautiful but strangely I didn't really get very excited about what I was shooting until the end of the tour. As I was walking back to the subway station, I passed a few old brick buildings (one in a serious state of disrepair and surrounded by a very tall iron fence with barbed wire on top) and there was at least a dozen birds perched all along the edges.

Although I am happy to see that the lens did capture some of the colors from the stained glass window (higher up on the wall) onto the spider web!

There is some connection (at least in my head) between the spider's will to live in the dust of the mausoleum, and the pigeons determination to stay on this dilapidated building in spite of the barbed wire...and also yesterday's blip regarding the swans getting around obstacles.

Here are some of my extra photos from the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.