stujphoto

By stujphoto

Twirly Plant-Filterama Challenge/September Square

I am not at all sure what this plant is but it was the twirl in its head that first attracted my attention as I walked with the dogs in the dunes at Belhaven this morning. I thought I would give nature a helping hand and increase its twirl slightly and let the surrounding vegetation join the in the twirl.

I first removed a couple of grass seed head that were sticking out in the wrong direction by doing a rough selection round them and using Fill > Content Aware in Photoshop. I then made a circular selection around the bloom with a heavy feather and twirled this very slightly using the Distort > Twirl filter. I inverted this selection and used the same filter more radically to twirl the surrounding vegeation. I finished up by adding a bit more contrast using Curves.

You can see the original flower in its pristine state HERE

I am reliably informed by Juleshki that the twirl plant is Clematis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.