Ingeborg

By Ingeborg

Green Woodpecker

I was just looking out the window to see if the bin bags had been collected yet, when I spotted this green woodpecker in the front garden. Quite a rare sight, we're so close to a busy motorway that you don't really expect birds from the woods to come here.
There were jackdaws, crows and magpies trying to get into the various binbags (don't ask, no idea why Belgian councils don't work with rubbish containers) so I knew I had to be fast to capture the woodpecker, before it got chased by the other birds. And I did only have time for a couple of quick shots before it flew off.
So, it's not a really sharp shot, the automatic focus when zooming in seems to like the dewy grass more than the bird. Anyway, I'm happy to have caught a bird for a change :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.