Gifts of Grace

By grace

Undaunted

I am determined to learn how to take better shots in the grey conditions that I live in instead of being a fair-weather Blipper. Suggestions welcome.

Someone on here (sorry I've forgotten who) mentioned The Third Landscape. A term I'd never heard before that fits a gap-site about a hundred paces from home. It's on the water's edge, a place for dogwalkers, wildlife and errant teenagers to hang out. I've always thought of it as free space and gathered brambles there each year.

A few weeks ago council workmen came and cut down all the vegetation, which seemed brutal for all the creatures who live there. Last week they fenced off the area with nylon netting. Today chipboard encloses all the entrances and double-height portacabins have appeared on-site.

It feels like some kind of violation in the interests of developing the derelict school next door. More pics to come, I wish I'd taken more of the wildness that has gone. This is the old boy scout hut in the first stage of being dismantled. Predictably vintage Joni comes to mind.

#am swimming

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.