Brushfield's Yellow

Now I get all of my gardening information directly from Norma. I don't want any misunderstanding here. I am totally ignorant about such matters on my own account. She says this is a variety of Camellia Japonica called "Brushfield's Yellow". We have a long path running from our side gate to the back door, lined with 16 different varieties of Camellia along with various other things. Right now they all seem bowed down with the sheer weight of their flowers. There are stray petals totally covering the concrete path itself and I imagine it's all quite impressive really.

I have progressed in my thinking about the square format. Some things do lend themselves to the approach and broadly speaking flower heads are among them. Another thing I have discovered is that for sheer convenience, the macro settings on compact cameras like the G12 are hard to beat. The inherent extra dof afforded by small sensors can be very handy when shooting flowers up close from an angle like this. Whenever shallow dof is required, my Olympus EM-5 or my venerable Nikon D80 are better choices.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.