The crowd

I think I've been abducted by aliens as I found myself at a rugby game this afternoon.

There were free tickets to the ITM cup rugby match Canterbury versus Otago on offer at work. I found myself saying something about "...hell had frozen over and I'd be up for the rugby tickets...". Everyone was so surprised they called my bluff and I ended up with 4 tickets.

And so it was I headed off to the game this afternoon with the fisherman, JT and Diana. The fisherman went into a frenzy from time to time, JT was silent and Diana and I found the stuff in between the running action bits boring, and laughed a lot.

The crowd though small was entertaining. So were the under 10 from Selwyn and Papanuni/Merivale who played the curtain raiser. They were great.

The best bit though was a phone call from Mum. It was dinner time at the hospice and she sounded good, just like Mum :-) Her only concern was that her TV is set up and ready to go for the 2 America's cup races tomorrow.

If you aren't familiar with the parochial regional colours here, The gentleman and in the Scottish hat is an Otago supporter. The woman with the red and black scarf is a Canterbury supporter.

As a one-off cultural experience it was fun but I don't think you'll catch me at a rugby stadium again ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.