Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Open University Badge

This is a back-blip and this picture shows four OU Shields taken through an upstairs window; I did take one of the famous Maple Tree, but decided that I liked this one better.

I left home early as the weather was awful, misty and raining, the journey to the OU campus in Milton Keynes, which used to take at least two hours, took one hour and thirty-five minutes and I stuck to all the speed limits. The roads had changed a little and I think leaving at the time I did I missed the early morning traffic.

The day itself was a brilliant one in terms of the content and delivery of the materials, meeting OU staff and other tutors. The catering was not to its usual standard and the person who served me appeared to have no idea what a vegetarian coeliac meal was. I was told there was salad (mixed leaves with an odd piece of cucumber added) and one slice of cheese. I asked for two slices and very reluctantly she gave me two; other tutors I spoke to had been limited to one slice and many were quite unhappy with the catering arrangements. Having been a coeliac for almost thirty years I do not go anywhere without my own supplies and even had an extra bread roll to give to another tutor who was also on a gluten-free diet.

I ‘jumped ship’ at 1615 hours as the 1600 hours session had not started. I decided that my head had gone into overload and I had the beginnings of a migraine, which fortunately did not develop until I was home and disappeared overnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.