Physick Garden

Lashing rain and howling gales this morning gave no excuses not to do a spot of cleaning but the sun came out at lunchtime and I headed off into the garden. Inspired by Bat making comfrey salve I have been following her instructions and gathered in a few herbs of my own - immersing them in oil and leaving them for a few weeks is the first stage. Having just read that we are all getting immune to antibiotics it seems a return to traditional remedies might be helpful. My conncotions include: lemon balm (headaches and well being), lavender ( muscles and migraines) , eucalyptus (colds and coughs), fuchsia (must be good for something!), rosemary (tiredness) mint(stings, wounds). I've also made more grape, apple and cranberry juice and am simmering rowan berries and apples following a recipe for jelly apc54 recommended.

A swim was taken. There were two refusals as I headed swiftly back to the car for a north westerly wind was hurtling down the beach, the water was murky and there were waves. It also wasn't terribly warm. Third time I leapt in and it was wonderful - you feel so alive - but it was quite hard battling against the wind to get back in, especially as I don't like getting my head wet. I'd had to anchor my clothes and flipflops down with rocks! That might have been it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.