Raestelle

By Raestelle

"And The Children Helped...

...Yes, the Children Helped to pick the Oranges at harvest time - which was in the November of each year..

...A follow-on from my Yesterday's Orange blip ...which incidently pushed me into the Spotlight once again - I am spoiled - I know - as it's happened 4 times in just 9 days, so you see, I am spoiled - but I wouldn't be there if it wasn't for your interest and kind comments, I do so appreciate each and every one of them, I'm sure you would know that though, I try not to forget...

...And yes, the Children Helped...and I thought you may be interested in the picture above, of our son, aged 11 at the time - in 1976 - (check out the hairdo and that shall definitely tell you it was really then..)...but there is a story to this picture..

...Where we once lived near Mildura - right next door there was a dear little Orange Grove - owned by the School which our son attended (and later, our daughter) and each year, the Oranges would be picked by the children and the families of the children, and teachers, and principal, and anyone passing by - even a dog or two helped I'd say, as they were around as well, bouncing in amongst the grove, it was good fun there, lots of noise and laughter I remember, no casualties...and the Oranges were then loaded into big boxes, and then tipped into the trailers as you saw yesterday, and sent off mostly for juicing, these were Valencia Oranges ...which ripen later...

...The proceeds of the crop was then put toward many things for the School, sports equipment, playground equipment, books, etc.. So different it would be today no doubt..

...At the end of the long weekend of picking the Oranges - a special School Bbq. was arranged for all of the children and the families who worked so hard to pick the little Orange Grove...

...Yes, our children and those who helped during those lovely times have very special memories, especially of the Orange Picking weekend in November...





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.