The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

A little hitch hiker!

Not much to blip today I am afraid, as it has been cold and rainy most of the day.
This little shield bug was hitching a lift on my camera bag when I returned from the forest after the dog walk yesterday afternoon.
I placed him in my fridge overnight, and I am jolly glad I did as without him I would have been very blipless!!!
This is a Birch shieldbug Elasmostethus interstinctus, The adults are present all year, and are between 8 and 11.5 mm in length. The larvae feed primarily on birch, but may also feed on aspen or hazel, which makes me think he probably came from my garden as we have a very large Silver birch tree, It is common and widespread, and can be confused with the larger and more elongate Hawthorn shieldbug A. haemorrhoidale.
I am sorry about the dreadful quality of this shot, but the light was apalling.
Hopefully there will be a better choice tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.