lovingSutton

By amandoAlentejo

Two Birthdays!

18 today, officially an adult, but still my baby.

We had a special family meal: a starter I used to make in the 70's - strawberries in a grapefruit cup; then her favourite - rainbow trout with toasted almonds; finally her brother-in-law made her the most chocolate chocolate cake I have ever eaten - called "Chocolate Wasted".

An interesting exercise is to try to describe your kids with one adjective. Mine for this one would be "fierce" - in loyalty; in fighting what she sees as injustice; in determination to see things through. She's had a tough year, but she's more than survived and I'm very proud of her.

(Oh heck! Just realised it's my 300th, so altered the title - had all sorts of ideas, but been too busy to realise. Well, what can I say about Blip?? I took it on to force myself to look for beauty at a very low point in my life, having left our home in Brazil after 24 years and having to adjust to life in suburbia. It has certainly helped but also, has become such a part of my life that not sure I want to give it up after completing the year I committed myself to...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.