Jesus and Roses

I'm just guessing...but I'm going to say that...like me...Jesus did not like roses. Need proof?

He says in Matthew 13:7..."Other seeds fell among thorns, which grew up and choked the plants. (NIV). Huh? Huh? Need even more proof?

Perhaps he read some practical advice from the book of Proverbs.

Proverbs 15:19. The way of the sluggard is blocked with thorns, but the path of the upright is a highway. (NIV.)

Proverbs 22:5. Thorns and snares are in the way of the crooked; Whoever guards his soul will keep from them. (ESV.)

Who am I to argue with Jesus? Sure...it's a beautiful flower. Sure...it comes in a variety of colors. Sure...when you send them, it's a sure sign of love. But...but...but...

It's covered with thorns. I didn't even want to get close enough to take this picture...for fear of uncovering another red...MY BLOOD!

Advice?

Don't be a sluggard...
of that I do warn.
Instead of shooting roses...
shoot...sweet corn.

Aw...shucks. Thanks for lending an ear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.