In the pink

A fab day - a good mixture of work and play. I spent the day at the London Wetland Centre. Still no voles, but there was plenty in the way of bird and insect life. I met Judy at lunchtime and after a hearty lunch, followed by tea and cake (because I can't exist), we had fun exploring the Wetland Centre in search of the elusive rodent. The ducks all over the site began to act quite oddly and various water sports were to be seen - lots of splashing, bathing and paddling upside down with big feet.

In the evening, I met Fred and we zoomed to Wembley stadium. In all our years in the city, we've never been there. From Wembley Park tube to the stadium, the avenue to Wembley was a seething mass of people. It's estimated that 88,000 people were there tonight - the largest crowd that Wembley has ever had. The gig was amazing, from the sound to the spectacle of the claw stage design and the lights and dry ice that came off it. The support band, Elbow, had an amazing sound. Then there was the build up to U2, and they do this kind of stuff very well. Soon we were all singing to the favourites and applauding the latest songs from their new album. I'm a huge Joshua Tree fan, so I was ecstatic when they played the three big songs from that:

I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For- A bit of Bono waffle at the start, but then you hear 88,000 people singing the first few bars of the song. It was one of the most amazing experiences - I hope I was in tune.
Where the Streets Have No Name
With or Without You

Coming out, I was really impressed by the crowd control - they've obviously thought it through. There was no pushing or shoving and the police horses in lines at regular intervals helped to break up the crowd. At the tube station, a line of police would come together whenever the platforms were full to hold back the crowd. Inside the tube station the signs had been covered up so people weren't spending time dithering about which platform to go to. Instead, tube station staff guided us to our destinations. We were home in no time, and even got seats on the train!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.