West wind

A day of chores, some very tedious. We ate early so that Mr H could go out to a meeting and while he was out I spent some time trying to organise the books on my Kindle and downloading a few new ones. Being loath to part with money if at all possible I have a strange and motley collection of works on it, mostly classics that I've never got around to reading . I just looked at a few of the unsorted ones - Machiavelli's The Prince, Mark Twain's Adventures of Tom Sawyer, Dickens' Our Mutual Friend, Abbott's Flatland.... and where did that Anglo-Saxon grammar come from? Anyway, having just finished James Hogg's "Private Memoirs and Confessions of a Justified Sinner" my flabber has been well gasted and I'm ready for anything. Well, maybe not Proust.

But the unsorted titles on the Kindle would have made a fairly dull monochrome blip, so I looked out of the window and noted that according to the weather vane on the old Corn Exchange, the wind is still coming from the west.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.