Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

En route to Geneva

I am writing this from the most comfortable sofa in the world! But I should give a backstory to explain where I am and why.

I have been at a conference in Muntellier-Loewenburg in Switzerland, it's pretty much in the middle of nowhere and the conference accommodation has rooms that are teeny weeny little wedge-shaped cubicles. The conference has been about advanced imaging techniques - I have a lot of fun at these conferences because there are a lot of really lovely and funny people in my research field. It's also a pretty small community, so everyone pretty much knows everyone else.

The conference venue is owned by a train company, SBB. Yesterday we had a poster presentation session in the reception hall and I enjoyed the model trains that were scattered about the place.

Today the conference finished around lunchtime - I was struggling a bit due to the stupid amount of wine I drank at the bar the night before (woops!) Barbara and I travelled from the conference venue to Geneva via two very well-maintained and punctual trains (I took this shot at the station near the conference venue), the latter of which swayed a lot and made us a bit motion sick! I got a nosebleed for the first time in my life on this journey but I don't think it was because of the train. My mobile phone charger was conveniently left behind in England and I'd run out of battery before I could meet up with my mum. She flew out to Geneva to meet up with me and Barbara. Thankfully, we managed to find her even though her flight had arrived 20 minutes early (when does that ever happen?)

We are renting an AMAZING apartment via Air BnB - I really recommend it, so much cheaper than hotels and so much more fun! Tonight we went out for cheese fondue and it was brilliant. Our waiter looked just like Phil Collins.

I think it's time for a cup of tea now! Have you seen the full moon tonight? We saw it as we walked back from the restaurant and it was spectacular :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.