Clementine's grandpa

I was feeling a bit under the weather, but with the sun shining so extravagantly, I went to the park to soak up some rays.

This is John, who spotted me sitting on the grass with my face upturned and camera on my lap, and asked me if I wanted to take his picture. He immediately admitted that he didn't really care about the picture but just wanted to start a conversation with me.

He told me that his wife passed away last year and then he moved to Florida to "improve his social life" (or at least that was his intention) but it turned out that "people there were too old." He clearly has a very young spirit and enjoys riding his bike all over NYC.

John noticed my wedding ring, and told me that if I ever get tired of being married to my husband, that he would be available to be my companion.

His son and two year old granddaughter came over and we all introduced ourselves. Little Clementine said something - the actual words were incomprehensible but her message was clear - she wanted her grandfather all to herself so she hit me in the face!

Her father was slightly mortified and said that she has been doing this with other little kids but this was the first time she had slugged a grownup. I felt honored, actually.
She just wanted our attention!

A few pictures from the day (including the lovely Clementine)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.