Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

At "the market".

More virgo birthday lunch celebrating - Mike (Mikeday - she is a much more typically organized virgo than I am...) and I went to the Pike Market on a beautiful warm day (rain is predicted later...). I used to spend a lot more time here - I passed this way daily on my way home from my studio in the 80s and so often filled my bike bags with produce for dinner from the local farmers. Also did a lot of volunteering at the Pike Market Senior Center/Food Bank then. Life has moved on, but I do miss the occasional visit here, so loved this idea of a leisurely catch up lunch. We had south American food, outside. There are still the hoards of tourists and cameras (!...one doesn’t feel out of place taking photos of strangers...) in such a colorful spot, but things have changed. Altho the regular vegetable sellers, and the fish stores and the crafts and restaurants are there, most of the local farmers are missing (they do make the rounds of the city at the various neighborhood markets) - they have been replaced by hundreds of feet of stalls of flowers, mostly grown and sold by the hardworking Hmong population. It’s a gorgeous display I couldn’t resist. Check out Mike's market photo - link above...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.