not seeing straight

By jaybroek

Apparently its 'Mrs Avery'...

Apropos nothing...

When I was eleven my family moved from Forres, in the north of Scotland, to the West Midlands. The four of us drove down over a few days - my sister and mum in a fine banana yellow Ford Cortina and me and dad in a less-than-mint Vauxhall Viva.

Now my dad was not unfamiliar with the illegal music download of the day - making cassette recordings of LPs borrowed from the library - and the Viva, while not blessed with a great deal of comfort or speed, did have a cassette player.

There was one tape that got played alot. Its a long way from Forres to Wolverhampton in a Viva so the lyrics got pretty embedded and i remember alot of joyous, tuneless singing along.

A few favourites stick in our collective memories though and it only takes one line to take me right back...

... for the next three minutes please...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.