Delph Wynd Daily

By delphwynd

Lookaboutye

Took an alternative route home from work today, off the main drag and along a quiet single track road. It's been years since I was last down this way, but I'm sure I'll definitely go that way again as there's loads of potential photo opportunities and I passed no other cars for four or five miles. In fact the only other vehicles on the road were two cyclist which, in hindsight, makes sense as the road is part of National Cycle Route 76. Might even muster the energy and jump on two wheels for a cycle along there at some point.

After finding out the road I took is called Lookaboutye Brae I dug a bit deeper and discovered the story behind the name. Apparently old Robert The Bruce was a bit prone to leaving his things lying at his backside and whilst hunting in this area had misplaced one of his gauntlets (as you do). Sending back one of his minions with the instruction to "Look About Ye" is the reason the road is till called this and, I'm assuming, the reason Clackmannanshire Council motto is the similar "Look Aboot Ye".

Isn't it great when you switch off auto pilot on on the daily commute and head off the A-roads? I'd recommend it.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.