Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Laces that Lace

Shoes. My shoes. My shoes have laces. My shoes have laces that are laced differently - well, now they do. My left foot is half a size bigger than my right, and I fancy that as I've run more, and stopped wearing my narrowish-toed boots, my shoes are becoming somewhat tighter in some areas: toes are spreading, and I think my arches must be lifting; certainly my shoes are beginning to get a bit aggravating around the mid-foot - especially my left.

Relevance? 'Twas my left foot that had the gremlin's burning plantar fascia knife stuck in on the weekend. I can't remember which foot had it a month or so ago, but I wonder if it was perhaps the left also. I was pointed towards a blog post with lacing techniques for running shoes, and I decided to try something with my work shoes - since they were what I was wearing. As you can see, I opened up the area over the mid-foot, and indeed it feels more comfortable. The next thing will be to do that with my running shoes and see how it feels.

And I'm going to start running more often, too. For a while still gently and as flat as I can, but more often. I intend to do the Sydney Morning Herald half marathon in April, and then the Blackmores Sydney marathon which I think will be in September. So. I've said it - more specifically than I have before. I guess I can't back down now. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.