nina54

By nina

After visiting Gunvor's rocks I decided to walk back to the house on my own. On the way I saw one person, three cars and at least ten hawks.

It has been raining heavily today and the rocks were so slippery that getting down to the shore was a slow, steady process; you cannot afford to rush. The nature of this place is unforgiving and one has to pay the utmost respect to it. A simple trip or fall can be a major, even dangerous problem.

Yet I have always felt completely safe on this island, safe in that sense that there is nothing to be afraid of. At home I have always been scared of the dark, of being alone in remote places - I would not walk alone Nuuksio for example as there are predators like bears and wolves.

The only thing that concerns me here are the ticks of which there are many, the autumn has been so warm and humid that they still thrive here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.