MaryannA

By MaryannA

Clearing out the Spice Cabinet!

These spices and herbs have been in the cabinets forever. I have used them very little. My brother always bought in quantity to save money... I am a bland cook and rarely use more than black pepper, onion and garlic powders, and a little sea salt.
I have blipped these before. They got a little use. So the dilemna is, should I toss them? Is there even a shelf life for this stuff? I guess if I throw it away, I am letting go of the past. I feel like I am tossing valuable gifts, like Gold, Frankincense and Myrrh.

Derived from tree sap, or gum resin, both frankincense and myrrh are prized for their alluring fragrance.

Frankincense is a milky white resin extracted from species of the genus Boswellia, which thrive in arid, cool areas of the Arabian Peninsula, East Africa and India. The finest and most aromatic of this species is Boswellia sacra, a small tree that grows in Somalia, Oman and Yemen. These plants, which grow to a height of 16 feet (5 meters), have papery bark, sparse bunches of paired leaves, and flowers with white petals and a yellow or red center.

The word "myrrh" derives from the Aramaic ܡܪܝܪܐ (murr), meaning "was bitter". Its name entered the English language from the Hebrew Bible, where it is called mor, מור, and later as a Semitic loanword[7] was used in the Greek myth of Myrrha, and later in the Septuagint; in the Greek language, the related word μύρον became a general term for perfume.

So valuable has it been at times in ancient history that it has been equal in weight value to gold. During times of scarcity, its value rose even higher than that. It has been used throughout history as a perfume, incense and medicine.

Today was a nice day. A little tired after a long day yesterday getting the kitchen almost all cleared out. Tomorrow will get back in the swing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.