Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

First Day!

Wow! In case I am not able to reply to you individually, I just want to say a huge "Thank You" to my blip-mates for all the support, good wishes and prayers you've sent my way for today! I got through. It was great!

Got there on time (of course!), dropped off by Pauline as she had just come off a night shift. I had a quick induction with HR and then got taken to my desk and to meet my new boss. I can tell you now that I have gone back to my old place of work but to new premises. This is the company that I did the photo project for back in June; so apart from this great view, I also have some lovely canvasses to look at - some of which are mine, and some taken by fellow blippers!

I had a great welcome back from my friends who still remember me. I wasn't given advance notice of it, but there was a team lunch to celebrate two birthdays - so we went to the Noodle House in Emirates Towers and THEN, I was busy minding my own business getting on with things, when we were asked to exit the building by walking down the stairs! Evacuation due to the strong earthquake in Pakistan which was felt here. I can tell you, walking down 21 floors is no fun on your knees and several hours later, my legs still hurt! I can see this is going to be a really good thing for me!

G came to pick me up and after a cup of tea and rest, took Pauline out for a meal before heading back asap so I could do my blip, comments, and get to bed early!

So, my blip is of this badly proportioned telco building which bugs me no end I can see from my desk. Go large to see two metro stations and Trade Centre Roundabout with its fountains. (If it wasn't for a taller building hindering my view, I could see my house from my desk!)

And for any of you who like(d) 80s music, Quincy Jones (yes THE Quincy Jones) is in Dubai for Dubai Music Week and I can't go to see him!!! :((

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.