Exchange

I had to go into Leeds this afternoon for a business meeting. I don't normally relish such occasions but I'm almost keen to go now for the opportunity it affords me to do a little photography in the city. It's quite a revelation compared to my home territory of Shipley. There is a certain subtle charm about the shabbiness of Shipley, and its people are as real and as down to earth as they come, but Leeds has style. Leeds exudes prosperity, in both the way the city presents itself and in the way that people present themselves. I was quite taken aback with how much glamour was on show.

I guess I have much more of an eye open for a face now. I felt like stopping every other person I saw to ask for a photograph. Like most major cities these days, Leeds is an incredibly cosmopolitan place. With a very large student population there is a real vibrancy about the city, people from all over the world coming together here. What was most striking was the astonishing creativity in the way most people dressed. There was some great hair on show too, both in shape and colour. It spoke to me of a confidence which I don't see in Shipley, a real feeling of creative expression. I was like a country boy visiting the big town for the very first time. My eyes felt as if they were on stalks. And I actually began to feel a craving for a bit of style for myself. Perhaps it's time to move beyond the shorts and T-shirt look! I think I've been inspired!!

I thought it might be more difficult to take street portraits here but every single person I asked was happy to oblige. I've really been spoiled for choice as to what to blip tonight so rather than trying to choose between a number of portraits of some very beautiful young women, I've decided to blip some crumbly old men instead. Sorry guys. In the end, this shot just appealed to be more than any other. For all the allure of style I'm still most drawn to substance. There's a story here. There's an exchange going on. And it's happening to be taking place on the steps of the Corn Exchange. People have been gathering here for all of 150 years. This works for me. I'm going to keep the young women for myself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.