Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

Spring Flowers at the Museum

These beautiful spring flowers were putting on a brave and colourful display outside the Christchurch Museum today. It was nice having the bright colour as the day was dark and cold, wet and grey.

I visited a startling and impacting Photographic Exhibition at the Museum, presented by Doc Ross. Based on the 37 seconds of the first of the February 22 2011 earthquakes, Doc Ross has made 37 Black & White portraits of people, most of whom were present during that quake, or some who were impacted by it in some way. Their words were also recorded, 37 words for each person (oops just had a small quake as I'm writing - the house really creaked) about their experience. I found it a very emotional experience, almost overwhelming, and I'm sure I didn't really absorb the quality of the photographs. It makes for sobering viewing. I take my hat off to Doc Ross for what he's achieved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.