The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

A head without a horse

Some places are haunted by headless horsemen, but the Helm above Kendal is noted for its horseless head. Gus and I encountered the head of the Fell pony today when we went for our lunchtime walk, there it was hovering in mid-air in broad daylight (or what passed for it under the grey pall of cloud). It reminded me of the story of the horse that went into a bar for a drink, "Why the long face?" said the barman.

Thank you for all the supportive comments and suggestions for Bob. We took him to the vet this evening, and I'm afraid the prognosis is not good. I had been planning to travel down to Southampton tomorrow for a few days with my Dad, but I am postponing it now as I fear we don't have much time.

My apologies if I am short on comments tonight, and I am still trying to catch up after the millennium Gus blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.