Misty Evening Harvest

I went to the site of the Battle of Naesby (1645) this morning, because I was passing and had half an hour to spare.

It's a splendid location for a battle as access is easy from the A 14 and the M1.
There is a wide, level battlefield between two hills that provide natural grandstands for spectators.

With mist swirling it was quite atmospheric and one could almost hear the clink of spur on stirrup and smell of leather and sweat intermingling with gun-powder.

On reading the information board I couldn't help but wonder how the 'Forlorn Hope of Musketeers' fared for the Parliamentarians.

All the photos I took were rubbish, not one soldier in view from either the Royalists or Parliamentary Forces, no blood, no gore, no rape, no pillage.

This evening when walking the dog, I took this shot - a field of rape, so it will surfice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.