Light & sight

By CameronDP

Ink

If anyone was wondering about my last blip…errr, dunno! I have only just read it back. I was pretty cream-crackered by the time I got round to blipping that day and… I wonder if the first dream of the night was starting to leak out onto the keyboard by that point !
Anywayz....today I dropped into a local emporium to buy a copy of the latest book by Bill Bryson. I am a long-standing fan of his work and have in fact met him twice at book signings. Think: short, tweedy jacket, ruddy complexion, slight air of embarrassment. On another occasion I walked out of my then office to find the Byster standing almost directly outside, reading the menu of the fish restaurant above, a gaggle of family around him.
While in the store, I succumbed to the lure of a 'two for £20 offer' and walked out with another recently published book - 'Catastrophe', about the first year of the First World War. Both look to be equally interesting reads, but, really, look at the size of them things! As much as I love books, I rarely buy hardbacks - purely because of the arm-straining, space-munching, impractical, unapologetic bulk of so many. A Kindle takes up exactly the same amount of space, no matter how many books ya buy...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.