Personal Catches of Eye

By Shorty

Made In China, Destroyed in Scotland!

This tiny brass padlock was my nemesis today.

For our journey along The Laugavegurinn in deepest Iceland we had to borrow a rucksack from a friend. This friend has misplaced the key to the innocent looking padlock, so my job was to breach it.

I firstly tried to politely pick it with a pin. No chance. I then gripped it with pliers pulling this way and that, I got the drill out and attacked the keyhole.

Brass bits, bolts and springs started to fall out of it but still the tough little thing just wouldn't budge

After much abuse, cursing, three broken drill bits and a great many blows with my hammer it gave in.

Even in victory I have Honor for my tough opponent.



NB (If your in need of a padlock, buy the small brass Chinese one.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.