Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The Icelandic Sagas - The beginning

I am sure there was a general conspiracy to prevent me from going to Iceland. On Thursday when I was trying to do all the last minute things at work there was a power outage for 2 hours which put me back. It's amazing how much you rely on power and the internet these days. I had some general things to do on Friday morning before heading down the M1 to get me to Sydney in time for the flight. All done and leaving in plenty of time, there were three accidents on the M1 slowing traffic to a crawl. Sydney roads were worse than peak hour at lunch for some unknown reason, then there were problems with the freeway to the airport with extensive delays. Detours around the back streets were clogged. Still by the time I made it to the check in counter there were still a few people in the queue, customs was relatively good and there was a half hour to calm down and imbibe a very stiff drink before boarding the plane.

The trip over has been uneventful except for the take off from Singapore which was rocket like and I suspect to avoid storms. Navigating Heathrow has been "interesting" in the Chinese curse sort of interesting and in particular the security searches. I don't think I will need to have any gynaecological check ups for a while. I could rave on about it but in the end, it is one idiot and they are all just doing their job. Just waiting now for the flight for Reykjavik in another four hours. I have access to wifi but left the adapter plug in my main bag so limited battery power. I am on the look out for trolls when I am there being an old troll myself and the true saga will start this evening.

Oh and this is Time and Opportunity who got me onto blip (an ex blipper now) who I am travelling with. The only shot I took.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.