My Special K

K, Greek for a thousand
Kilogram:one thousand grams
Kilometre: one thousand metres
Kiloblip: one thousand blips

So, blimey (You can tell I am being posh today. I used blimey rather than the usual barage of filth swearing), I have reached Kiloblip. I think that means you get a telegram from The Queen, mine isn’t here yet, I think the letter box may be broken or something.

What can I say? Something that started as a passing curiosity has become an integral part of me. I joined Blip with the sole purpose of having to go out and find something lovely to photograph every day and to write my musings. It was an entirely private self help lite strategy. Soon I realised, well pretty much after day one, that some people actually looked at my photos and read my ramblings, it soon became more public than I ever envisaged.

The public thing is not negative, it means that Blip has become a community to me and that I have met people on here, both figuratively and actually, who I may never otherwise have met.

We have a large blip contingent locally ( get us Yorkshire people eh !) and I have met many. Our local meets are always fun, yes we discuss blip ( we usually always discuss The Brownlees aswell when I, ever the wallflower, am steering the conversation ) but real friendships have developed aswell.

Overseas Blippers that I follow from NZ, USA, Switzerland and Norway allow me to see life from another angle. Their blips show the world in a fresh unbiased way. Sometimes we are fed information about other countries through the media which is usually about politics. On Blip, I get to see more : I get to see about family life and values in other countries thanks to these blippers. I also get to see some amazing diverse global landscapes.

As for my own photos: some are decidedly average, most could do better , a few are brilliant but they are all well... , just me really. Blip enables me to see my surroundings in a new way: to appreciate nature and our world, although in doing so I have been caught with a camera in many an uncompromising position!

In my head all my blips are ace, I just don’t have the equipment to always produce what I want. When I am rich I will get a decent camera and really try to up my game

Which brings me on to today’s blip . I knew I could never execute this on my own so I enlisted the help of the wonderful Mr John, whose own blipversary shots are always legend, so I was certain that he would be up to the task. I knew what I wanted to do today in my head, so John is my guest blipper who made it happen. Massive thanks John.

Thanks to all of you for reading, skim reading, viewing, commenting, thanks for your friendship and thanks Blip central for enabling me to enrich my life.

So now 1000 blips are done I am not sure what I will do. Will I blip daily or will I blip when I see something amazing ? I am not sure but I will definitely still be around in some capacity. I can’t quit, I am still waiting for the day when I can blip a photo of me and Jonny Brownlee before I can say my journey is done.


Marvellous

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.