chaos

By Chaos

Gary's Truck Sales

You know, I let Bucky out of my site for a second and look what trouble he gets into!

I visited Gary's Truck Sales yard once before. Mr. bluesheep has inspired me to return to some of my favorite locations, those related to transportation.

I haven't developed the knack of finding the abstract in a common object, maybe there is not one in this old military truck. But there is a story here.

The military has contributed to a good deal of recent Alaskan history. Associated with the run-up to World War II, the military built a good part of the Alaska Highway (or Alcan Highway from the lower 48 through Canada) in order to secure a road link to the far northwest outpost of Alaska. Still today, major US Air Force and Army Bases are located in Fairbanks and Anchorage. Electronic surveillance facilities are similarly located, still looking west towards Russia.

There are a smattering of old military trucks around the state, some used on the Alcan construction in the 40's. Gary has about a dozen of such trucks still running, and many more in parts, as is this one.


Gary's Truck Sales, Anchorage, Alaska

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.