Licensed to thrill

It's that time of the year again.

These are a selection of my fishing lures. Some are Tasmanian Devils and others are Cobras. They're very similar but the Cobras have a 'V' shaped tail, like the second lure in, a 'traffic light' Cobra. They often have red eyes too, whereas the Tassies have none.

The third lure in with the green and gold spots is a 'frog pattern' Tasmanian Devil. Green and gold is a new colour addition to my Tassie box this year. As always I have high hopes :-)

Land-locked salmon and rainbow trout favour the bright colours. The fluro pink number worked well for me a couple of occasions last year. The blue and pink one next to it is new, it has fish markings on it and (supposedly) looks like a young rainbow. Fish are partial to their young (or the young of other fish). The theory is every Canterbury spinning angler should have a brown and rainbow marked/coloured Tassie. I'm doing my bit ;-)

And why am I showing you/telling you this?

This coming weekend I'm off to Otematata, conveniently located close to Lakes Aviemore and Benmore. I don't know much about it but I think my experience is going to introduce me to trolling from a boat for trout. I know about trolling on the sea, but this is different. I have the types of lures I'll need for the weekend organised :-)

For trolling I'll remove the treble hooks on wires and replace with single looks onto slpit rings and line. Singles do less damage and the fish survive better when returned. (I do intend keeping a few fish I can smoke once home).

Time is marching on. I was late home today, then a few chores to eliminate, dinner and a catch up with the little mother-ship. She is doing well and benefiting from the medication changes the hospice made and extra home help.

(Yes, I have a fishing license).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.