Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The Icelandic Sagas - Two trees make a forest

I can report that the Icelandic weather forecasters were correct. There were heavy falls during the night, some horizontal rain, mizzle and everything in between today. It was not much fun at the Glacial lake but before we got there we stopped at the Park Headquarters where it was only sprinkling lightly at the time. On the way in were these ponds alongside the road and such glorious colour. I was itching to get some shots so I was glad when it was suggested we go for a wander back to the ponds. There were lots of beeches and birches all in Autumn colours and the other flora that I remember from my last trip including harebells, sea campions, saxifrages, blueberrys and fungi of various description. There are not many trees in the South so this was unusual.

There is an Icelandic saying that if you have two trees, you have a forest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.