Better News

As it was pouring with rain this morning I decided to have a look at his mobile telephone rather than going to the Apple shop. I am pleased I did because I have checked everything, I think, on the phone and cannot find this problem. The battery was completely exhausted and I charged it a little and let it run down again to see if the message came up, nothing, so I fully charged it and took it back to him, although he did not want me to leave it, so it came home again. I am now more convinced than ever that it was an advertising banner trying to get you to buy virus software. I shall investigate further and post any relevant findings, but apparently to get rid of this advertising you turn your iPhone off completely, which is what happens when the battery is exhausted. If one of the nurses had not seen the message as well I might have thought that the GOG was so drugged that he had dreamt or imagined it.

So, today’s news. When I telephoned the hospital late last night, the GOG had not been moved to bed six as arranged, but to bed seventeen on the floor above. This is still part of the Intensive Care Unit, but when I spoke to him on the telephone this morning he told me that there are four beds in the room and although it I still one-to-one nursing, it clearly means he is making progress.

Actually there are five beds in this section, but he did not stay there very long as this afternoon they moved him to an Intermediate Dependency Unit, which is in the same area. He now has a room to himself again, but not one-to-one nursing.

The surgeon visited and it is possible that he may go to a normal surgical ward tomorrow; they are already talking about getting him back on his feet and home. The consultant who he saw earlier in the week also visited and said that he could now have soft food. He is no longer having a saline drip, but drinking enough without it. He is still on a lot of medication, but most of this, except for painkillers, is his normal medication, which manages his condition.

If I had thought about it in time I should have blipped his jelly, ice cream and yoghurt, but I did not and so you have Florence instead. He is not keen on any of these food items, but the jelly and ice cream disappeared rapidly; the yoghurt he was saving for later.


Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.