RunAndrewRun

By RunAndrewRun

Love while you can

Running rest-day ...

... and it's also National Poetry Day :-)

As variously mentioned, the Scottish Poetry Library has produced a fantastic set of 'poem-cards' around this year's theme: water.

I promised to choose my favourite - of the cards - and I've opted, as per the blipfoto today, for "The Whale-watcher" by Kathleen Jamie.

And below, I'm also reproducing a poem I wrote myself in April 2012, which does have my local canal (water!) as part of it's story ... hope you like it:


Love while you can

Another Edinburgh sky
As the door opens on the day
Full of potential
Awaiting the unknown

The ride along the canal
Still water eases the commute
The park and path bustle
All the way to the bridge

Then lifted back to tarmac
A circle of local culture
Meadows that forever inspire
To the Capital’s heart

Each and every contact
That follows through the day
Affirms that heroes all
Are those who last till dusk

Too many questions asked
So little truly seen
Just never enough
Simple thoughtfulness

But every day, of every week
Of every year, over these decades
Forever clear to me
The truth of it all

Everything matters
Each detail
Sharp and sweet
Infusing our soul

Then later, home
In every way possible
To everything that matters
Love while you can
.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.